News:

20 January 2024 - the forum is now 7 years old. Time flies.

Main Menu

K7 Tank Polish (wet sand to wax)

Started by SA14, Sunday, 16 August 2020, 04:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SA14

New delivery of my K7. First job...make her purdy-er. Starting with the paint (I'll get to the forks later - look away - oh the horror). I restore and polish headlights for a living so I decided to use the same method except without the hard sanding. I started with a wash and clay bar, then rubbed it all down with a 3,000 trizact 3 inch disc (by hand), then 3,000 Cartec compound on a 3" rotary polisher (good for small polishing jobs like headlights and tanks) followed by a 12,000 Cartec finishing polish and finally X-Wax by Meguire's. Not 100% show quality perfect but pretty good I reckon. The photos show how the bike arrived (with 3 year old dust still on it) and after the polish.

Here's a video showing the before (after wet sanding) and a small section that I finished to show the difference. If you're scared to wet sand, get a 3,000 trizact disc from your local automotive paint supplies and have at it. It's very mild and removes a lot of small scratches.

grog

SA, trizact easy to use? I have some small scratches. Even a novice on paint sanding, me, wont do any damage. Just a 75mm sander tool needed?

KiwiCol

😎  Always looking for the next corner.  😎

SA14

Quote from: grog on Sunday, 16 August  2020, 05:04 PM
SA, trizact easy to use? I have some small scratches. Even a novice on paint sanding, me, wont do any damage. Just a 75mm sander tool needed?