News:

20 January 2024 - the forum is now 7 years old. Time flies.

Main Menu

Headlight Mounts Polished - nice.

Started by SA14, Sunday, 16 August 2020, 03:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SA14

Just bought this 2008 but it's been in storage for 5 years. Three of which were spent apparently unprotected near the ocean in a car port out on the open then another 2 years uncleaned after a 1,000km road trip so the corrosion is substantial. However apart from that it's a great bike so I'm slowly restoring the brightwork. I had a bit of a go at the forks and the areas I did (mostly the front straight sections) came up great so need to re-do them properly getting into all the small tight areas near the tops and bottoms but in this post I'd like to show how the headlight mounting brackets came out.

I restore headlights for a living so I just applied all my normal paper techniques except on a headlight I'd wet sand but on these I dry sanded. Not 100% perfect but good enough for me. I'll be protecting them with SiO2 clear ceramic coating (paint protection) which I use in my business so I have access to a few drops (all that's needed). Normally this stuff costs AUD$250 per bottle so probably too expensive to buy just for this purpose (although it can be used on paint and wheels too). It's experimental because it's not specified for use on raw polished aluminium so I'll be a test. How long will it be before I know the SiO2 has protected them? By that, I mean, unprotected after how long would I start to see tarnish appearing under normal use? If (say) 3 months then if after 6 months they still look shiny I'd consider that a success and a possible solution to regular re-polishing we all dread/love. The Ceramic coating I use says 7-10 years. Wish me luck.

And now...the results including one breathtaking "before" photo.

KiwiCol

😎  Always looking for the next corner.  😎

SA14

Quote from: KiwiCol on Sunday, 16 August  2020, 05:12 PM
Looks exceptional!   Great job mate.